*Caution: Puke Pic In Post Below. Ye Faint Of Heart Be Warned! ARRRRRGGH!

December 13, 2011 at 1:47 pm (Greg, just (me)linda, Little Lamb Chop, Mileage)

I am about to share a lot of gross details. Just a heads up for you.

I do not throw up. I hate it. So I don’t do it. I don’t out of shear Quigley stubbornness. In 29 and a half years, the number of times I’ve thrown up due to illness has been less than I can count on two hands. My three pregnancies didn’t add much to that number. Some people vomit well…like Greg for example. He can just relax, get it out, and feel better. For me, it’s violent. Without fail, it explodes out my nose, and brings no relief.

A stomach bug hit our house this past weekend. It’s taken me to a zen, slow-moving turtle place. I stop, breathe and concentrate through the urges to loose it, and then continue on being a mom. …and it all started with this:

Photobucket

This is how we found Eve at 12:30 am Sunday morning. (Who sleeps through that?!) We cleaned her up, and I spent the remainder of the night sleeping on the floor next to her holding a bucket. Dear, sweet girl.

Bright and early the next morning, I got up to shower and go to Stake Conference. We’d decided maybe I should go by myself, and honestly, I was quite looking forward to that. When I was ready to go, I peeked in on the kids only to discover Miles sleeping in a pile of his own vomit. (What the what?! Again, who does that?!!) Poor boy was fine all night, and I felt so bad that I was in the shower when he needed me. My children definitely do not have my iron stomach.

Greg says the best training to be a parent he got, was all his years of working at Six Flags. Cleaning up bodily fluids is just another day at the park. I’m so grateful that he just takes all that stuff in stride. He’s a wonderful man. I knew the children were in great hands as I walked out the door.

I started feeling funny during conference, but I was fairly sure it was due to a hard night. When it took me forever to make dinner that evening, and I could barely eat any of it, I knew I was sick too.

Photobucket

Monday was full of nuggling, (snuggling) watching movies by the Christmas tree, blog reading/writing, friends doing nice things for us, and Greg handling everything when he got home. Basically, we were lazy bums. By evening, the kids were on the mend. I’m not far behind them. Today, I got ready for the day. The wash has been started, meals are being planned, and music lessons will be attended. It’s another day in motherhood. As always, we have music helping us push through it. We took a break from the Christmas tunes this morning so the likes of Eddie Vedder could serenade me. I love his slower stuff…sometimes the harder stuff too. :) I’m sure that comes from years spent in the same house with my brother, Lee.

Hope you are all able to avoid the barfs this season! So sorry to any of you I may have unknowingly infected at Stake Conference. I’m sure you’ll have some extra immunity points because you went. You should be good. *wink* :)

5 Comments

  1. Lara said,

    OH MY GOODNESS…. so funny and gross at the same time! Keera has done that once or twice, but no where near that level of puke’ness..You earn the Mommie award for Dec!

  2. Jennie Kunz said,

    Poor little sick family!! And also, the picture of Eve made my stomach jump a little. :)

  3. Tracie said,

    It must be a family thing because I too, absolutely hate to throw up, and haven’t done it since I was 15. I would much rather feel miserable than actually go through the experience. Hooray for strong stomachs, escpecially when you wake up to some ‘what the?!’s.

  4. reese said,

    That picture of Eve with the puke totally reminds me of when I did the same thing when I was a kid and Mignon had to clean me up. I’m pretty sure she had a date over that night too.

    I agree with you about the horribleness of barfing, but I’m pretty sure I can count all fingers and toes three times over for how many times I’ve upchucked. Guess I’m not as stubborn as you =]

    I love EveE’s clasped hands and somewhat furrowed brow in the last pick. So the cutest.

  5. Gwenny said,

    PLEASE, pretty please…. do another post so I can get the barf image out of my head!! It’s been on here LONG enough. It’s making me want to….. cough, choke, barf. I’m begging you……. =)

Leave a comment