When Things Get A Little Too Hairy…

December 12, 2011 at 2:08 pm (just (me)linda)

Confession: I take a lot of cell phone pictures of myself, because well, let’s keep it real here, I’m a little vain. However, my narcissism comes in handy at times. It’s a rare occasion for me to actually be in front of our family camera…unless I make Greg take pictures of me. It’s not that I don’t want to be in pictures, (I am a firm believer that moms and dads should routinely be photographed no matter how you think you look, because those images will be treasures to your kids and grandchildren.) it’s just that I’m always the one taking pictures.

Today I was looking for a pic of my long hair, and it was taking too long to search and search our files for one, so of course I just resorted to my celly. (SEE? HANDY!) There was a problem though…my hair was so freakishly long that it’s hard to find an image displaying its full lengthy glory. Yes, you read correctly…”was” so freakishly long.

Photobucket

I’ve been wearing my hair long for quite some time now. In fact, I have never been so satisfied with the same style for so long. I loved my lengthy tresses, and went without feeling my usual hankerings for a change for a really long time. It grows pretty fast, and had reached the bottom of my bra line. Longer than I have ever had it before, but honestly, it had gotten too long, too heavy, too blah. I can’t even describe it, but one day I just felt like it was time. Time for something new.

Photobucket Photobucket

Here’s my dirty locks, capped, ponied, and ready to go to the salon on Thursday. That’s a nice thing about having a friend cut it. She sees my hair all the time, and knows how I style it and what problems I have with it. So there was no pressure to really do my hair before going to see her.

Photobucket

She asked a million questions to make sure I was really ready…

Photobucket

…then BAM! There was twelve and a half inches of my mane on the table.

An inch or two more off to shape it, and I’d say we have ourselves a change! :)

Photobucket

It was the weirdest. feeling. EVAH. to run my hands through it, and have nothing there! I’m very happy with it though, and the weirdness it already wearing off. My friend did an amazing job. Now I’m just getting used to styling it.

Photobucket Photobucket

My new bed hair is pretty fantastic. I’d forgotten just how crazy it used to get. (No worries, just bleachin’ my ‘stach…it’s not a sleepy/kooky faced milk advertisement.) I was really pleased with how well my crazy coif tamed though. I threw it into a braid, whipped out some curls with the flat iron. The curls got a little too “I’m twelve” looking, but still, nice to know I can still get away with two day hair!

Photobucket

I feel like my hair and I finally hit our stride on Sunday. I’m loving it.

Photobucket Photobucket

These are a couple pictures I showed my stylist friend. (The left is Caitlin from hue and hum. I’m a huge fan of her hair, her art, her blog, her cute dog and her husband’s music.) (PS: This is one of my very favorite pieces by Lady Hue. It means something different to me than her inspiration, and I don’t have my long hair anymore, but it speaks to a deep part of me. I love it.) Anywho, the end product of my chop far exceeded my expectations.

Photobucket

It’s just (me) in a new way. :)

5 Comments

  1. Amy said,

    First of all…I just love you and miss seeing you. I promise I will get bunco going. I’ve had really good intentions, promise.

    And secondly…you are so freaking gorgeous!!! I LOVE the new (me) or…the new you….or ‘do’. Whatever..I love it! So sophisticated and still sassy and stylish. Seeing these pictures makes me want to chop my locks just a little. I am feeling freakishly long these days. Anyway, you just might be my inspiration.

    And thirdly…you reminded me that I too need to go bleach my ‘stache. :)

  2. Lara said,

    I LOVE it!! You are so brave, I want to cut it, just for a change but eeeeekkkk. someday :)
    12.5″ I’m impressed that is alot to let go of, but it looks amazing on you and you probably feel so light and freeeeeeeeee!

  3. Jennie Kunz said,

    You can rock any hair style!! Love the new look!!

  4. Shannon said,

    Wow! I’m assuming the hair was donated, and I must say that its recipient will be one lucky duck. Your hair is beautiful any way it’s cut because YOU are beautiful. And I love the new ‘do. It is so fun and CUTE! You pull it off very well indeed.

  5. Bethany said,

    I love it!!! You look so much like Gwenny… it is so beautiful! You and Reese seem to be rockin the short locks and it is so cute. I really like your hair short and have since it was short when we got married. (then it was blonde too)

    you are beautiful! Miss you.

    Bep

Leave a comment