Warm heart, cold hair

January 15, 2011 at 8:43 pm (Greg, just (me)linda)

Right after Christmas, we met up with my family for a winter reunion in Island Park. Pine trees fat with snow, and a white carpet of powder six feet deep…awesome. The vistas were beautiful for sure, but below zero weather made outdoor ventures extra nippy. Sledding with the kids didn’t last too terribly long, but I did have an epic run before we relented to the cold. It’s always pretty sweet when I can smoke my bros in any sort of race. I dominated despite blatant cheating. =) Only makes victory taste sweeter. For the most part, however, we just holed up in our HUGE lodge and chilled together. We had yummy food, dance parties, cousins galore, and HOT TUBBING.

Photobucket

It did not occur to me that there would be hair effects when hot tubbing in sub zero temps. All the steam in the air made for some pretty sweet styling. I never got my hair wet! The condensation from the steam just froze on all the individual hairs. Rad, eh?! It wasn’t long before we decided to take it to the next level. Greg dunked his head, and let our nieces style his hair. It only took a few minutes for his sweet do to freeze solid. The girls joined him, and froze their hair too. GOOD TIMES and lots of laughs ensued. We just had to pull a polar bear challenge, and run to front of the lodge in our suits. We waved in the windows until people noticed so they would come take pictures.

Photobucket

Even our eyelashes got frosty!!!

Photobucket

The longer we stayed in there the more white things got. I love how every little hair on Greg’s head and face got all Jack Frost-y.

Photobucket

I had to add this crazy face picture. (Even though I’m arching my back, and look four times bigger than I hope I am. YIKES.) I wanted to show my nieces’ sweet hair sculptures. One got a three-spike mohawk and the other got a Cindy Lou Who. :) Seriously so funny.

In other news, I finally got my Christmas decor taken down today, and it felt sooooooo nice. Is it just me or do Christmas decorations have the exact opposite effect after Christmas as they do before Christmas? Luckily it all comes down pretty fast once you set aside a moment to do it. So nice to have that done!

5 Comments

  1. keely said,

    That’s crazy…..and pretty cool! Looks like you guys had a lot of fun.

  2. Lauren said,

    SO DARN FUNNY! It’s a beautiful look on you.

  3. Shannon said,

    How AWESOME!!!!! Your hair looks so cool like that and I LOVE the eyelashes! You look like a beautiful snow queen. I am going to have to try that someday! Brrrr!

  4. Chris said,

    Lol. Those pictures are awesome. Greg looks like an old man in that second one. Sweet Beard!

  5. jennie kunz said,

    HA HA HA HA!! That is hilarious! Love the eyelashes. And I also LOVE Island Park. jealous. Glad you had so much fun. Your hair is seriously amazing, I keep scrolling up and laughing. Love ya!

Leave a comment