The season with all the trimmings

December 9, 2009 at 12:36 am (Family, Fun With Cameras, Little Lamb Chop)

Photobucket
It was so fun to decorate the house with my kids this year. Brenden really got into helping with all the details, and Miles and Eve danced with excitement. The stories behind each ornament were told as we found the perfect spot to hang it. When everything was in it’s place, we turned off all the lights and spent the rest of the evening playing by tree light. The boys set up their train underneath, and Eve circled the tree over and over studying all the ornaments. Christmas is almost better as a parent than it was when I was a kid. I’m sure that is because some of my best memories include the glow of a Christmas tree, and it warms my heart to see that same joy reflect in the eyes of my children as twinkle lights dance on their faces. Every morning the boys get so excited to “turn the tree on, so it can be beautiful” and I’m more than happy to oblige. I love Christmas! Not really the big day even…it’s the whole build up to Christmas Day that I love. It’s just merry and bright and all that jazz. :) I love it! Greg asked me the other morning how I can stand to listen to Christmas music all day long. He’s crazy!

Photobucket

My sister sent Eve this dress. Greg and I are generally not big fans of velvety, frilly dresses for little girls, but we both had to admit that she looks darn cute in this fur trimmed number. She BEGS to wear it every time she finds it. That and her witch costume. It’s so funny to me how she’s already into dressing up. All of my hair ties double as her bracelets, and head bands are necklaces. Give this girl a purse, and she’s over-the-moon excited. So different from my boys that came out making car noises.

On a photography side note: My camera does not handle high ISO levels well AT ALL. I’ve noticed that my images start getting significantly noisy on anything over 200. It used to bug me, but I’ve decided to embrace it. This picture of Eve, for example, was lit only by our Christmas tree. I bumped the ISO to 1600, and really liked the dreamy glow I got. I think the added grain makes it all the more enchanting. I absolutely love experimenting with photography. It’s so fun to me. I remember the day I really learned what aperture meant and how it worked, and my view of the whole world changed. I’m totally not exaggerating…the WHOLE world. :)

9 Comments

  1. Amy said,

    I love Eve’s girlishness. Makes me want her! Shane asks the same thing about listening non-stop to Christmas music. Seriously??? One of my favorite things.

  2. Gwenny said,

    Your tree looks awesome. I’m like you with loving the whole Christmas season, not just Christmas Day. There is something just magical about this time of year. By the way, I think Evee looks adorable in her little dress. She looks so festive. I’m of the opinion that you’ve got to take advantage of those moments of dressing them up in those festive outfits before they don’t want to any longer.

  3. Brandi said,

    I love Christmas too! And Eve, yes, she’s a doll…as always!

  4. Jennie Kunz said,

    Such a wonderful season. Love the pictures. Eve is DARLING!

  5. Jaymie said,

    I need some photography tutorial. I thinking about getting a nice camera for Christmas. Could you email me some suggestions? (jpquigleyfamily@gmail.com)

  6. Reese said,

    I’m pretty sure that things got switched up in heaven because EveEE was ment to be sent to me! Next thing you know, she’ll be doing shampoo commercials in the bathroom. ha ha.

  7. Kari Cole said,

    Glad you are enjoying the season!! I thoroughly enjoy your posts Melinda!! It’s fun to look at all your amazing pictures and your narrative is inspiring.

  8. Jill said,

    Isn’t it fun when you understand how your camera works? I feel your ISO pain. My house is so dark I have to have a higher number just to get an image. GRRR. Hence why I love outside pictures. Tons of light. My next selfish purchase is going to be a new lens. My camera only opens to a 4.1. I really really want a 1.2. Could you image the possibilities? Love your “dreamy” pictures of Eve. Beautiful!

Leave a comment